The Political Landscape of Mauritius

Mauritius’ political landscape is not the definition of stable, with the current acting Vice-President being Paramasivum Pillay Vyapoory. His role came to be, as the previous president, Ameenah Gurib-Fakim, resigned in March of 2018. She was the first female to be chosen as president of the country, which was a considerable feat. The issue was that she received accusations of spending tens of thousands of rupees on personal items, that included clothing, jewellery, shoes, etc., and she did so with a card issued by a well known international charity. The money was intended for scholarships for impoverished students who were in need. Gurib-Fakim denies these accusations and claims to have repaid all of the cash that was spent

Pravind Kumar Jugnauth was named prime minister after his father, Sir Anerood Jugnauth, resigned from the position. He was undoubtedly well qualified for the role, having been the Minister of Finance. This was not too long ago, only January 2017. Despite it seeming to be an ever-changing, rolling cycle of leaders, Sir Aneerood Jugnauth was the longest-serving leader, having held his role as prime minister since the independence of Mauritius in 1968. He was the leader of the Militant Socialist Movement (MSM) Party, and this also made him the minister of finance and interior issues/affairs. The MSM party and the Labour Party had held power since 1968, except for the period from 1982-1983, as well as 2003-2005, when there were brief periods of others running the country.

The politics in the country are not the most stable, with the party not being favoured by everyone, and considered to be somewhat controversial. The state formally operates under the structure of parliamentary democracy which means there are three branches including the legislative, executive and judiciary branches. The democratic system also means there are multiple parties. There is a President as well as a Prime minister in Mauritius.